Re-verified monthly · last check Oct 27, 2026

The pricing tracker

Every price on this page was read off the vendor's own pricing page by us, on the date shown — never lifted from a roundup, a review site, or an AI summary. That distinction is not pedantry: this month we found a plan still quoted across 2026 buying guides that no longer exists, and live prices a full tier above the numbers circulating secondhand. Prices rot. Dates are the preservative.

Each tool here has been through our lab or is in the queue; where a review exists, it's linked. Promos are listed with the expiry the vendor stated — if the date has passed, assume the promo has too. Pricing your own services instead? That's the pricing worksheet.

Core ledgers

The books themselves. All four ran identical sample books in our lab.

Lab score · ledger checklist

21/32

Free $0 new since August: 1 user, NO accountant access, 2 invoices/mo, 1 bank connection
Simple Start $38/mo
Essentials $85/mo the tier we tested; 3 users + free accountant seats

Trial: 30-day trial, hidden behind the promo funnel. Card required — and it cannot be removed afterward; cancel or you convert. Promo: 50% off for 3 months — a toggle: take the discount OR the 30-day trial, not both. No end date shown. Via our affiliate link (disclosed below): "up to 50% off for 3 months" on any paid plan, per Intuit's Program Guide v1.0 read Oct 23, 2026; the same offer as the public page, not a better one..

Xero

Verified Oct 7, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · ledger checklist

25/32

Early $27/mo was $25 at our Sep 28 check; caps: 20 invoices, 5 bills/mo
Growing $59/mo the tier we tested at $55; unlimited users on all plans
Established $97/mo was $90; adds multi-currency

Trial: The "Get one month free" toggle is back on the pricing page as of Oct 7, 2026 ($0 for one month, then the regular price; it was gone at our Sep 28 check, when every card said "Buy now"). Our August trial on that toggle needed a card with no way to remove it; the page says nothing about a card now and we have not re-run signup. The free month and the 80% promo cannot be combined. Promo: Public page: 80% off for the first 3 months (Early $5.40, Growing $11.80, Established $19.40, then full price). Fine print: new US customers buying their first organization, base plans only (no add-ons or payment fees), cannot be combined with any other offer, no end date (the page code marks it always-on). Via our affiliate link (disclosed below): 80% off for 6 months, verified on its landing page Oct 7, 2026. Page banner: "Free standard ACH bill payments are now included in Xero business plans.".

FreshBooks

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · ledger checklist

18/32

Lite $23/mo capped at 5 billable clients — client count is the pricing axis
Plus $43/mo the tier we tested; 50 billable clients
Premium $70/mo unlimited clients

Trial: 30-day trial, no card demanded — the honest kind. Free dedicated Accountant role on all tiers. At expiry: login lands on a plan-checkout wall with the 90%-off promo pre-applied — no read-only mode, no export offered. Promo: Lite $1/mo for the first year; 80% off Plus or Premium for 3 months. Fine print: no free trial with the promo. No end date shown (the page’s code sets Oct 15, 2026).

Wave

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · ledger checklist

22/32

Starter $0 genuinely free, forever — but ALL collaborator invites are Pro-only
Pro $19/mo ~$15.83/mo billed annually; unlocks bank feeds, rules, and bookkeeper access

Trial: No trial needed and no card, ever. The revenue engine is payments (2.9% + $0.60; Pro discounts it). Promo: Pro $9.50/mo for the first 3 months, monthly billing, new subscribers (fine print still dated Dec 2, 2025–Jan 6, 2026).

Receipt & document capture

Both ran our 15-document receipt gauntlet, photos and PDFs.

Dext

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · capture checklist

26/32

Business plan $31.50/mo 250 docs, 5 users
Practice (Essentials) $23.92/client/mo 10-client MINIMUM — a $239.19/mo floor; $20.35 at 20 clients. Practice tiers now named Essentials and Advanced
AI Assist add-on $10.50/mo category suggestions are the add-on, not the base; price shown “until 31 October”

Trial: 14-day trial, no card.

Hubdoc

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · capture checklist

24/32

Flat $12/mo per organization, no practice minimum
With Xero Included free with every Xero business plan — verified on our own billing page

Trial: 30-day trial, no card.

Month-end close

Mounted on our already-reconciled books with planted open items.

Double

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · close checklist

28/32

Core $10/client/mo the tier we tested
Plus $25/client/mo
Scale $50/client/mo unlimited users on every tier; minimum is one connected client
Enterprise Contact sales

Trial: 15-day self-serve trial, no card — but only for practices with 0–9 clients; bigger firms are routed to a sales demo. (Called Keeper until late Oct 2025; keeper.app now redirects.)

Client onboarding & engagement

The document chase and the engagement letter — opposite halves of onboarding, both in our lab now.

Content Snare

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · onboarding checklist

27/32

Basic $42/mo $35/mo annual · 20 active requests, 2 users — requests are the axis
Plus $85/mo $71/mo annual · 50 requests, 5 users, custom branding starts here
Pro $143/mo $119/mo annual · 100 requests, 10 users
Custom from $258/mo from $215/mo annual

Trial: 14-day trial, no card — extendable to 21 days by answering a marketing survey. Uploads capped at 20MB during trial. At expiry: firm side fully locked with no export window or stated retention; a completed request’s client link shows a graceful “contact the company” page.

Ignition

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Solo $49/mo $39/mo annual · 20 active clients, 1 user — gated to firms under $150k revenue, and requires connecting Xero/QBO and enabling payments
Core $149/mo $99/mo annual (the aggressive 34% annual push) · 50 clients, 3 users
Pro $279/mo $229/mo annual · 350 clients, 15 users
Pro+ $499/mo $399/mo annual · 600 clients, 20 users (was unlimited until at least Aug 29, 2026)

Trial: 14-day trial, no card, all features regardless of plan; collect up to $10,000 in payments fee-free during it (their own pages disagree on whether that window is 14 or 30 days). At expiry, both the firm login and the client’s proposal link went dead the same day — no read-only mode, no export.

CollectCue

Verified Sep 26, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · onboarding checklist

19/32

Starter $19.9/mo printed "$19.9" on the vendor’s page · 20 billable clients, 500 emails/mo — clients AND emails are the axis; every reminder to every contact counts
Growth $39.9/mo 50 clients, 1,500 emails/mo
Pro $69.9/mo 100 clients, 3,000 emails/mo

Trial: 30-day trial at Pro limits, no card. No annual billing seen. Signup is Google sign-in only. A client saved as a draft is "Not billable" until it goes live.

Payroll

Reviewed from the outside — payroll cannot be lab-run for a fictional company, and we say so.

Gusto

Verified Sep 30, 2026 · pricing page

Simple $49/mo + $6/person single-state payroll; tax filing included at every tier
Plus $80/mo + $12/person multi-state, HR, time tracking
Premium $180/mo + $22/person
Solo $49/mo + $6/person S-corp solopreneur self-pay — for your own firm, not your clients

Trial: No trial clock at all: free until you run your first payroll.

Landlord finance

Bookkeeping for self-managing landlords. Stessa and Baselane went through the lab Oct 13–19, 2026, so their rows carry terms as experienced at signup and checkout; the other ten are as read from each vendor’s own pages on Sep 19, 2026, ahead of their trials.

Stessa

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · landlord checklist

22/32

Essentials $0 unlimited properties, file import, 8 basic reports incl. Rent Roll and a Tax Package; unlimited collaborators are free despite the in-app Pro upsell
Manage $12/mo annual · $15 monthly adds Schedule E, Balance Sheet and the Capital Expenses schedule; the tier we paid for, one month, to score Schedule E
Pro $28/mo annual · $35 monthly

Trial: No trial: Essentials is permanent and needs no card. Manage is month-to-month at $15, renews on the same day each month (the Subscription page shows the next billing date), and “Cancel Subscription” is a plain link there; the Stripe checkout showed no renewal or cancellation wording at all.

Baselane

Verified Oct 18, 2026 · pricing page · our review

Lab score · landlord checklist

16/32

Core $0 bookkeeping reachable with no bank account, KYC or card; Schedule E included; single user; tenants and leases need a bank account
Smart $20/mo on annual monthly-billed price still not shown Oct 18; AI categorisation, keyword/amount rules, balance sheet and team access all sit here

Trial: Core has no trial and no card: free and permanent, though signup demands a mobile number (a VOIP number was accepted despite the “no VOIP” label). Smart is a 30-day card trial that the pricing page says auto-charges at day 30; we did not open it.

REI Hub

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Free $0 “for minimal transactions”; no bank feed; the limit is not quantified
Professional, up to 3 units $9/mo annual · $15 monthly
Professional, up to 10 units $15/mo annual · $25 monthly
Professional, unlimited $48/mo annual · $80 monthly

Trial: 14 days, no card required; the help center says data entered stays readable after expiry.

Landlord Studio

Verified Oct 27, 2026 · pricing page

Go $0 3 units only, manual entry, no bank feeds
Pro $15/mo monthly · $12/mo on annual ($144/yr) 3 units + $1.20 per extra unit (4 units = $16.20 monthly)
Pro Plus $35/mo monthly · $28/mo on annual ($336/yr) 3 units + $1.20 per extra unit (4 units = $36.20 monthly)

Trial: 14-day Pro trial, no card required; downgrades to the free Go tier afterward with data retained.

TurboTenant

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Free $0 one connected bank account, no transaction import
Essentials $149/yr 1–10 units, annual only
Pro $199/yr 1–10 units, annual only; Schedule E

Trial: None by policy (“you can really access all of TurboTenant for $0, forever”). Paid plans auto-renew; refunds by request form.

RentRedi

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Monthly $29.95/mo
Six-month $20/mo
Annual $12/mo $144 billed once; REI Hub add-on $25–99/mo extra

Trial: None: “you’re charged when you subscribe (it’s not a free trial)”, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on request.

Rentastic

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Core $60/yr 2 properties, no Schedule E
Unlimited $238/yr · $29 monthly Schedule E & C

Trial: 7 days, no card required; a plan must be chosen at the end. 7-day money-back guarantee.

Hemlane

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Starter $0 bank sync and reports; no rent collection or leases
Basic $2/unit + $28/mo platform fee $30/mo for one unit
Essential $20/unit + $28/mo
Complete $58/unit + $28/mo

Trial: Starter is free forever with no card. Paid tiers: “try for 14 days”; card requirement and what follows are not stated.

TenantCloud

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Starter $18/mo · $15/mo annual no tax reports
Growth $35/mo · $29.17/mo annual
Pro $60/mo · $50/mo annual tax reports, P&L, reconciliation start here

Trial: 14 days on every plan; card requirement and trial-end behaviour not stated.

Avail

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Unlimited $0 manual income/expense tracking; tenant pays $2.50 per ACH
Unlimited Plus $9/unit/mo

Trial: No trial on the free tier by design; Plus trial terms not stated.

Innago

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Innago $0 tenant pays $2 per ACH or 2.99% by card; bookkeeping via partner app

Trial: No trial concept; the product is free. Nothing to expire.

DoorLoop

Verified Sep 19, 2026 · pricing page

Starter $69/mo annual · $99 monthly up to 10 units; no bank connect
Pro $149/mo annual · $189 monthly bank connect and QuickBooks sync start here
Premium $209/mo annual · $239 monthly plus an onboarding fee by portfolio size

Trial: None. Demo-gated: the only call to action is “Book a Free Demo”, and /free-trial returns a 404. Promo: 30% off for 3 months + waived onboarding on select plans (page said ends Nov 7, 2026).

The catch log

Dated instances of why this page exists: what our verifications caught that secondhand numbers missed.

  • Oct 18, 2026 Baselane’s pricing page still prices Smart only as “$20/mo on an annual plan”, a month after we first noted it; the monthly-billed price appears nowhere, so the 30-day card trial converts at a price the page never states. Signup also asks for a mobile number labelled “no VOIP”, and accepted one.
  • Oct 13, 2026 Stessa’s advertised APY moved without the app noticing: the pricing page read “up to 2.02%” (Essentials) in September and 1.88% on Oct 13, while the app the same day still showed 2.02%, and 3.49% for Pro against the page’s 3.24%. The in-app Pro upsell implies collaborators cost money; “Unlimited collaborators” is free on Essentials. Manage checkout charged exactly the advertised $15.00 (Oct 17).
  • Sep 30, 2026 QuickBooks Online now has a $0 Free plan, which wasn’t on the pricing page when we tested in August. It allows one user, two invoices a month and one bank connection, and gives “No accountant access”. So a client on Free can’t give their bookkeeper a seat; that starts at Simple Start ($38/mo). The promo also changed from 90% off to 50% off for three months, and the page still makes you choose the discount or the 30-day trial.
  • Sep 30, 2026 FreshBooks swapped its 90%-off promo for $1/mo on Lite for a year and 80% off Plus or Premium for three months. The fine print adds: “No free trial period is included when availing this promotional discount.” The page shows no end date, but its own code sets the campaign to end October 15, 2026, with the countdown switched off.
  • Sep 30, 2026 Ignition cut its top Pro+ plan from unlimited users to 20, at the same $499/mo ($399 annual). No other tier moved.
  • Sep 30, 2026 Wave’s pricing page advertises Pro at $9.50/mo for the first three months, but the offer’s own fine print says it ran “from December 2nd, 2025 until January 6th, 2026.” It was still on the page nine months after that end date, so the page doesn’t tell a buyer whether the offer is live.
  • Sep 28, 2026 Xero dropped its US free trial. Since September 1, new US sign-ups go straight to "Buy now"; the "Get one month free" toggle we trialed through in August is gone. Base prices unchanged at $25 / $55 / $90.
  • Sep 19, 2026 Hemlane’s “$2/unit” Basic plan costs $30 a month for one unit. The pricing page adds a $28 platform fee beneath the per-unit headline, so the advertised figure is 7% of the bill for the smallest landlord it is aimed at.
  • Sep 19, 2026 Baselane’s own partner page offers referrers “up to $200” in its hero and “up to $150” in its body for the same referral. Its Smart plan is priced only as “$20/mo on an annual plan” — the monthly-billed price is not on the page at all.
  • Sep 19, 2026 Rentastic tells three different price stories on its own site: the pricing page ($60/yr Core, $238/yr or $29/mo Unlimited), the FAQ ($7/mo Core and a free tier), and a “versus QuickBooks” page ($16.58/mo). We track the pricing page and note the rest.
  • Sep 19, 2026 TurboTenant’s pricing page says the $199/yr Pro plan includes “built-in accounting tools”, while its rental-accounting page sells accounting as a per-unit add-on for every user at $15/mo for one unit, capped at $85. Which one a Pro subscriber actually gets is not stated anywhere we could find. To be settled at trial.
  • Sep 14, 2026 Xero’s pre-charge email counts down wrong. Sent on 1 September, its subject and body both say “7 days remaining” in the free month — while the same email names the charge date as 11 September, ten days later. The free period itself ran to 10 September. The error favours the customer, since the real warning was longer than advertised, but it means the countdown and the date in one email disagree. Intuit’s equivalent notice, sent seven days before its charge date, was exact.
  • Sep 1, 2026 Xero’s billing reminder — sent seven days before it charges a card, which is more warning than any other tool in the lab has given us — still carries a price-increase notice dated “From 1 Oct 2025”, eleven months stale at the time of sending. The warning itself is exact (charge date named, cancel link included); the price note attached to it tells a reader nothing about whether their own plan is moving.
  • Aug 29, 2026 Ignition’s trial-expiry win-back email headlines “For just $39 a month” — but its own footnote limits the offer to a Core, Pro, or Pro+ monthly plan. $39 is the Solo tier billed annually; the cheapest plan the offer actually covers is Core monthly at $149, or 3.8× the advertised figure. Verified in Ignition’s own in-app plan chooser the same day, which also defaults to the annual toggle so the lower numbers show first.
  • Aug 16, 2026 Gusto’s $35/mo contractor-only plan — still quoted by 2026 third-party pricing guides — is no longer on Gusto’s pricing page. The "Pay Myself" tab now sells a $49 S-corp Solo plan instead.
  • Aug 16, 2026 Ignition’s live prices ran a tier higher than the numbers circulating in third-party guides (Pro verified at $229/mo annual, not the widely quoted $199), and its Solo tier’s $150k revenue gate is self-attested at signup.
  • Aug 12, 2026 Xero launched embedded US payroll powered by Gusto — the payroll-pricing question for Xero practices changed shape entirely. Pricing for the embedded product still settling.
  • Aug 10, 2026 QuickBooks Online and Xero both demand a card at "free" trial signup and provide no way to remove it afterward — the trial is a subscription with a fuse. FreshBooks, Wave, Dext, Hubdoc, Double, Content Snare, Ignition and Gusto demanded none.

Some links below are affiliate links — if you subscribe through one, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes a verdict; every tool runs the same test books. Full disclosure